Wise Fox?

The TV drones away in the background as I try to sleep. I am uncomfortable. I’m too hot, and my pyjamas are twisted under the bed sheets. I never could sleep in the same room as a TV. I feel like someone is watching me. I get up, stretch and walk over to the open window. I glance over to the TV as I light up my last cigarette. I should have quit years ago, like all my old friends did. Me being me though, I continued secretly smoking away, whilst announcing to anyone who asked that I barely touched them – ‘Just when I had a drink’. Now though, I couldn’t care less. Those who quit had a reason to do so – they developed hobbies which required them to be fit, or met partners who encouraged them to quit. Some had kids.

Staring out of the window, I saw an old urban-fox-londonfox trotting up the empty street. It stopped to sniff at an overfull bin, then looked over in my direction. I stared back. In that moment I felt a connection. Something under that moon linked me and this old fox. Out there, in the street fending for itself, living day to day. I thought it was about to reveal something to me, a secret of this world. I waited. Then the fox’s head moved slowly. I realised that it wasn’t staing at me, but an empty polystyrene takeaway box beng blown past my window by the gentle breeze.

I cursed, threw the stump of my cigarrette out of the window, flicked off the TV and went back to bed.

About odiousghost

Successfully going from failure to failure since 1767
This entry was posted in London, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wise Fox?

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    So well written. You fully drew me into your moment. Realising the fox wasn’t looking at you – I get it, you know, having thought there was a connection.

    Great tale.

Leave a Reply

