04:04, Monday Morning

I woke slowly, hoping it was later than I knew it would be. 7am would have been good; 8:15 better. I didn’t raise my head to look at the clock. Not yet. I just lay there, letting my eyes grow accustomed to the darkness, and listening her, breathing. The gentle rise and fall of her chest the only sound in the darkness. I needed to go to the bathroom, but I really didn’t want to get up. I was comfortable – a rarity for me whilst lying in bed – and comforted, by her rhythmic, steady breathing. The simple sensation of her breath being exhaled against my exposed forearm brought more pleasure than I would have thought possible. A gentle caress, regular and hypnotic.

I turned my head to look down at her, glancing at the clock as I did so. Then I just lay there, smiling.

At 04:04 Monday morning, in that dark, quiet room, I was more content than I had been anywhere else on the planet for a long, long time

About odiousghost

Successfully going from failure to failure since 1767
This entry was posted in London, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 04:04, Monday Morning

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Wow, I know that 04:04 in the morning – yes, I know that feeling. What a lovely moment this is, as you’ve said it.

  2. maclarena says:

    Comfortable and comforted. What a lovely moment, love. What a lovely (shared) feeling.

Leave a Reply

